Democrats Push Bill to Offer Washington D.C. Statehood

The United States’ Democrat (The Coup Party) majority House will vote on H.R. 51 on Tuesday, April 20th, to determine whether Washington D.C. will become a state or remain a federal property. The bill is being fought by twenty-two state attorney’s general who in a letter deemed it unconstitutional:

If this Congress passes and president Biden signs this Act into law, we will use every legal tool at our disposal to defend the United States Constitution and the rights of our states from this unlawful effort to provide statehood to the District of Columbia. Accordingly, not only does Congress lack the authority to create an entirely new state out of the District, but it also does not have the authority to reduce the size of the District to the equivalent of a few federal buildings and surrounding parks.

Alan Wilson, AG South Carolina and twenty-one states attorneys general.

As the 23rd Ammendment to the Constitution provided electors to the citizens of the nation’s capital, the attorneys general argue that Congress would need an amendment to the Constitution for to grant statehood, and not a process of legislation.

U.S. Constitution – Twenty-Third Amendment | Resources | Constitution Annotated | | Library of Congress

The battle for D.C. statehood is not a new one. In 1978, Congress successfully approved an amendment to repeal the 23rd Amendment to the Constitution (first passed on June 16, 1960, and ratified on March 29, 1961), however, the amendment was never ratified and eventually dismissed. But the desire to make the seat of the nation the 51st state of the union has been opposed by lawmakers from the Justice Department of President Reagan and President Carter, respectively, to Supreme Court Antonin Scalia (when serving as a judge on the  D.C. Circuit Court of Appeals), and most recently in 2007 when opposed by the Office of Legal Counsel.

The letter in opposition to H.R. 51 was authored by Alan Wilson, attorney general for South Carolina, and signed by the attorneys general of Georgia, Louisiana,  South Dakota, North Dakota, Texas, Utah, Florida, Alabama, Missouri, Indiana, Arkansas, Montana, Nebraska, Ohio, Kentucky, Mississippi, West Virginia, Idaho, Kansas, Arizona, and Oklahoma.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s